Pork Barbacoa, with Roasted Green Enchilada Sauce

A few days ago, I wrote briefly about a delicious homemade green enchilada sauce and never got around to including the recipe for it, or for the pork barbacoa that it was to accompany.

Today, I remedy that. Without additional pictures, because I forgot to take them and leftovers aren’t pretty.

Two summers ago, my significant other requested that I make pork barbacoa. I’d never made it before, and while I couldn’t slow cook the meat using a grill or whatever you’re supposed to use (I seriously don’t know), I did manage to find a recipe for it using a crock pot. I love crock pots, they’re amazing, and if I can make something in one instead of dirtying a ton of dishes, I totally will. This is a super simple recipe from Food.com, with relatively few ingredients. It calls for pre-made enchilada sauce (like, the gross stuff you get in cans or jars at the grocery store), but I prefer to make my own because I get a huge amount of satisfaction from making things myself when I can.

Anyway.

Shredded Pork Barbacoa (6-8 servings)

3 -4 lbs pork roast (I used pork tenderloin, about 2.5 lbs.)
salt
pepper
garlic powder
1/2 cup green enchilada sauce
1/2 cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Sprinkle the pork with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, to taste.
  2. Place in the crock pot, on low, for 7-8 hours. I like to leave it a minimum of 10 hours since it makes it shred easier later.
  3. Shred, then return to crock pot. Depending on the amount of liquid in it from all those hours the pork was cooking, you might want to remove at least some of it. I didn’t this last time as there wasn’t a ton of liquid.
  4. Add enchilada sauce and brown sugar, mix well, and let it cook on low an additional 30 minutes. The additional cooking isn’t strictly necessary, it’s just something I like to do.

If it’s a bit dry for your liking, I like to,  using the stove and saucepan, mix leftover enchilada sauce with some brown sugar (I don’t measure it out, I just add a little bit at a time and keep tasting it) to put on top of the pork since we usually have it in sandwich form.

As for the enchilada sauce….the recipe is from The Scattered Cook. It does call for poblano peppers, but I couldn’t find any, so I just skipped the part involving them and added additional jalepeno peppers instead.

Roasted Enchilada Sauce (48 oz.)

10-12 Tomatillos, husked and washed
8 garlic cloves, peeled and left whole
1 onion, cut into fourths and broken up by hand
2 jalapeno peppers, stems removed
2 poblano peppers
Juice from 2 limes
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cumin

Directions

  1.  Set your oven to broil. Place your poblano peppers on a cookie sheet lined with foil, and place on the top rack in your oven. Allow the peppers to blacken on both sides, making sure to turn often with tongs. Once black on both sides, remove from oven and let cool to the touch.
  2. Turn oven to bake at 450 degrees.
  3. While the poblano peppers are in the oven, place the tomatillos, onion, garlic, and jalapenos in a roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil. Roast for 15-25 minutes, or until juices are flowing and tops are beginning to brown.
  4. While the rest of the veggies are roasting, skin, core, and roughly chop the poblano peppers, and place in blender or food processor.
  5. Once the veggies are done, add to the blender or food processor along with the rest of the ingredients. Blend on high until smooth. BE CAREFUL! The mixture will be very hot.

 

I imagine the poblanos probably add this extra bit of depth to the flavor, and I’ll definitely be making this again with them as soon as I can get my hands on some. So, there you have it!  Pork barbacoa, and roasted enchilada sauce. Definitely not my own recipes, but they’re delicious and worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

